About Us » Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year

2017-18 Teacher of the Year

Marissa Ayala

I am extremely humbled in being selected as Teacher of the Year for Harry E. James.  I am originally from NYC & relocated here in 2009 with my family. I’ve been in the classroom for 24 years now and every year is a new magical experience.

I have a Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Education, my undergraduate degree is in Elementary Education Pk-6th grade. I am currently enrolled in a second Master’s program with St. Leo University and have obtained credit hours towards my PhD in Education.

It gives me great pleasure to work with highly qualified teachers and support staff here at Harry E. James Elementary school. Thank you for your support.


2017-2018 Rookie of the Year

Kimberly Hurt

Hi! My name is Kimberly Hurt and I am honored to be HEJ’s rookie of the year, especially out of an incredible group of rookie teachers that we had for the 2017-2018 school year. I’m originally from Tennessee but moved to Virginia in High School before I graduated from Liberty University with honors and a degree in Elementary Education. Today, I’m extremely grateful to have my dream job teaching 5th grade with the best team around! My favorite things are watching football, reading, eating tacos, and going on vacation. :) 


Previous Honorees
Rebecca Winfree 2016-17
Niki Parker 2015-16
Kimberly Faubion 2014-15
Crystine Baynard 2013-14
LaDonna Mills 2012-13
Kristin Adkins 2011-12
Sara (Kallio) Fletcher 2010-11
Misty Kassebaum 2009-10
Janice Baum 2008-09
Connie Rakes 2007-08
Donna (Duncan) Hoover 2006-07
Paige Renn 2005-06
Arlene Adkins 2004-05
Mary Ann Gould 2003-04
Violet Taylor 2002-03
Kathleen Joyner 2001-02
Veronica (Brandon) Moore 2000-01
Janice Baum 1999-2000
Diane Turner 1998-99
Annie Gail Crump 1997-98
Kendall Sims 1996-97
Diane Turner 1995-96
Colleen Donahue 1994-95
Bertram Boisseau 1993-94